Tuesday. 28.11.2023

Russian President Vladimir Putin has signed a decree to suspend the simplified visa procedure for citizens from Western European countries.

The decision includes participants of official delegations and journalists.

The Kremlin justified the step with the "unfriendly actions of the EU and a number of other states."

In addition to EU states, the regulation affects Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland.

Since the start of the Russian invasion of Ukraine, most European states have closed their airspace to Russia, while several Schengen states, including the Baltic States and the Czech Republic, have also stopped issuing visas to Russians - except in humanitarian cases.

Putin suspends simplified visa procedure for European citizens