Wednesday 10/20/21

First female Commission President will take office on 1 December

The EU Parliament approved the new Commission by 461 votes to 157 against, with 89 abstentions.

German Ursula von der Leyen is the new President of the Commission. Photo: © European Parliament.

In a roll call vote that took place at noon on Wednesday, European Parliament members approved the new College of Commissioners with 461 votes in favour, 157 against and 89 abstentions.

During her opening statement, European Commission President-elect Ursula von der Leyen reiterated many of the commitments she made in Parliament’s plenary chamber in July, and by the Commissioners-designate during the hearings process.

She highlighted that appropriate investment and regulatory frameworks will be put into place for Europe to lead the way internationally on a range of critical issues: environmental protection and climate change, growth, inclusion, innovation and digitalisation, as well as the protection of democracy, European values, citizens’ rights and the rule of law.

Ursula von der Leyen also confirmed one more portfolio change that Parliament had requested following the hearings, which established the candidates’ suitability for the role and for the College of Commissioners. The new College of Commissioners will take office on Sunday 1 December for five years.

Before the election at noon, political groups held brief meetings to decide on their voting intentions, which were followed by statements from their leaders in plenary.