Wednesday. 17.04.2024
Emma Terho of Finland was on Friday elected chair of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) athletes' commission, the official portal Athlete365 said.

Terho, a former ice hockey player with two bronze medals, beat two-time pole vault gold medallist Yelena Isinbayeva of Russia in a commission vote.

She succeeds Kirsty Coventry of Zimbabwe whose term ends after Sunday's completion of the Tokyo Games.

South Korean Ryu Seung Min was picked as new vice-chair.

Terho, 39, has been in the athletes' commission and the IOC since 2018 and is a member of the coordination commission for next year's Winter Games in Beijing.

Finland's Emma Terho new IOC athletes' commission chair